My review: The Murder of Magpies, by Mark Edwards

37773690

About the book:

The terrifying sequel to the #1 bestseller The Magpies.

Five years ago Jamie Knight lost everything: his home, his wife and their unborn child. But at least the woman responsible, ‘Dark Angel’ Lucy Newton, was in prison, and slowly Jamie was able to rebuild his life.

But now Lucy has been freed on appeal, and before long Jamie receives a message from a desperate stranger. Lucy is up to her old tricks—ruining lives for fun.

Jamie agrees to help. But once again, he has no idea what he is getting himself into…

My review:

Mark Edwards is one of my favourite authors, and of course, ‘The Magpies’ is one of my favourite thrillers. With no doubt I couldn’t miss a little sequel to ‘The Magpies’. So, before reading it, take a look at the first book first.

I would call this novella ‘short and sweet’. It doesn’t take long to read it, but it has everything for a successful thriller: suspense, drama and a cliffhanger.

I think ‘The Murder of Magpies’ is about many things: it’s about revenge and desire to make everything right, it’s about love and what you can do for it and it’s about letting go. Probably the last was impossible for Jamie. But can you blame him after what he and Kirsty have been through?

The story is absolutely crazy which makes it even more interesting. I actually was craving for more, so it was almost a torture to finish the book so quickly.

There definitely should be the third book that I am looking forward to already, as I enjoyed the first novel and a sequel novella.

My score is 4* out of 5*, just because I would’ve really loved this book to be longer.

 

 

 

 

My review: Don’t let go, by Harlan Coben

15F9C949-D847-4DC4-B929-2691799E98DE

About the book:

With unmatched suspense and emotional insight, Harlan Coben explores the big secrets and little lies that can destroy a relationship, a family, and even a town in this powerful new thriller.

Suburban New Jersey Detective Napoleon “Nap” Dumas hasn’t been the same since senior year of high school, when his twin brother Leo and Leo’s girlfriend Diana were found dead on the railroad tracks—and Maura, the girl Nap considered the love of his life, broke up with him and disappeared without explanation. For fifteen years, Nap has been searching, both for Maura and for the real reason behind his brother’s death. And now, it looks as though he may finally find what he’s been looking for.

When Maura’s fingerprints turn up in the rental car of a suspected murderer, Nap embarks on a quest for answers that only leads to more questions—about the woman he loved, about the childhood friends he thought he knew, about the abandoned military base near where he grew up, and mostly about Leo and Diana—whose deaths are darker and far more sinister than Nap ever dared imagine.

My review:

Harlan Coben never dissappoints, that’s for sure. ‘Don’t let go’ is a quality thriller with a great storyline, interesting characters and a big secret.

I must say I found a character of Nap quite likable and relatable. I liked his natural toughness and ‘don’t give a shit’ attitude alongside with high morals and common sense. His character ‘doesn’t let go’ until he knows the truth. He is not scared of authorities or danger. At the same time he is not that ‘sickly perfect’ character and still has some flaws and can be wrong in some situations which I like very much. Nothing worse than ‘too perfect’ characters that make you cringe on every page, because they are too unreal.

I absolutely enjoyed all TV series and movies based on Coben’s novels, so would like to see if ‘Don’t let go’ to come on a TV screen. I won’t say more not to spoil the plot for you.

The story is quite tragic. It often comes to the decisions you make when you are young. At the time they seem silly and harmless, but the results can be devastating. This book is also about families and relationships. How well we know our siblings, our parents, our friends. Do we notice something is wrong at the right time? At the time when it’s not too late?

I think this book is also about the choice. The choice we make to question things. The choice to want to know and try to find out. The choice to get involved and stop some things. The choice to never let go.

My score is 5* out of 5*.

My review: Mother, by S.E.Lynes

36151110

About the book:

Christopher would never hurt anyone. Not intentionally. Even after everything that’s happened I still believe that…

Christopher Harris is a lonely boy. A boy who has never fitted in to his family. Who has always felt something was missing from his life.

Until one day, when he discovers a suitcase in his family’s attic. Inside the suitcase is a letter. Inside the letter is a secret about his mother that changes everything.

What price would you pay for the perfect family?

Christopher finally has a chance at happiness. A happiness that he will do anything to protect…

An unputdownable thriller about the lies we tell and the secrets we keep, Mother will hold you breathless until the very last page and leave you reeling. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Sister and Apple Tree Yard.

My review:

Thank you to NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

I can’t say that the book is keeping you in real suspense, but the story is quite interesting. The story is about a boy, then young man Christopher who is trying to find a place where he belongs. I think many people can relate to him. The secret he learns about opens up the whole new life and new opportunity of life for Christopher.

The book is about a young man who feels lonely in his own family. What will he do with this new truth he found out? How will it all turn out?

Without any spoilers, this book is about motherhood, a relationship between a son and a mother, about family relationships in general and how much it can mean to a person.

I really enjoyed the book, despite being a bit slow at the start. To me this book is a bit of a drama than a thriller/suspense. Some things I got straight away. The final twist is good but I am a little bit in denial. I actually liked Christopher’s ‘version’ of events. Or preferred it more.

Like they say, you don’t choose your family. Well, some people do.

My rating is 5* out of 5*.