What people read on the bus – The Dry by Jane Harper

About the book:

Jane Harper’s debut novel

Luke Hadler turns a gun on his wife and child, then himself. The farming community of Kiewarra is facing life and death choices daily. If one of their own broke under the strain, well…

When Federal Police investigator Aaron Falk returns to Kiewarra for the funerals, he is loath to confront the people who rejected him twenty years earlier. But when his investigative skills are called on, the facts of the Hadler case start to make him doubt this murder-suicide charge.

And as Falk probes deeper into the killings, old wounds start bleeding into fresh ones. For Falk and his childhood friend Luke shared a secret… A secret Falk thought long-buried… A secret which Luke’s death starts to bring to the surface…

My review: Mother, by S.E.Lynes

36151110

About the book:

Christopher would never hurt anyone. Not intentionally. Even after everything that’s happened I still believe that…

Christopher Harris is a lonely boy. A boy who has never fitted in to his family. Who has always felt something was missing from his life.

Until one day, when he discovers a suitcase in his family’s attic. Inside the suitcase is a letter. Inside the letter is a secret about his mother that changes everything.

What price would you pay for the perfect family?

Christopher finally has a chance at happiness. A happiness that he will do anything to protect…

An unputdownable thriller about the lies we tell and the secrets we keep, Mother will hold you breathless until the very last page and leave you reeling. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Sister and Apple Tree Yard.

My review:

Thank you to NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

I can’t say that the book is keeping you in real suspense, but the story is quite interesting. The story is about a boy, then young man Christopher who is trying to find a place where he belongs. I think many people can relate to him. The secret he learns about opens up the whole new life and new opportunity of life for Christopher.

The book is about a young man who feels lonely in his own family. What will he do with this new truth he found out? How will it all turn out?

Without any spoilers, this book is about motherhood, a relationship between a son and a mother, about family relationships in general and how much it can mean to a person.

I really enjoyed the book, despite being a bit slow at the start. To me this book is a bit of a drama than a thriller/suspense. Some things I got straight away. The final twist is good but I am a little bit in denial. I actually liked Christopher’s ‘version’ of events. Or preferred it more.

Like they say, you don’t choose your family. Well, some people do.

My rating is 5* out of 5*.