My review: Mother, by S.E.Lynes

36151110

About the book:

Christopher would never hurt anyone. Not intentionally. Even after everything that’s happened I still believe that…

Christopher Harris is a lonely boy. A boy who has never fitted in to his family. Who has always felt something was missing from his life.

Until one day, when he discovers a suitcase in his family’s attic. Inside the suitcase is a letter. Inside the letter is a secret about his mother that changes everything.

What price would you pay for the perfect family?

Christopher finally has a chance at happiness. A happiness that he will do anything to protect…

An unputdownable thriller about the lies we tell and the secrets we keep, Mother will hold you breathless until the very last page and leave you reeling. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Sister and Apple Tree Yard.

My review:

Thank you to NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

I can’t say that the book is keeping you in real suspense, but the story is quite interesting. The story is about a boy, then young man Christopher who is trying to find a place where he belongs. I think many people can relate to him. The secret he learns about opens up the whole new life and new opportunity of life for Christopher.

The book is about a young man who feels lonely in his own family. What will he do with this new truth he found out? How will it all turn out?

Without any spoilers, this book is about motherhood, a relationship between a son and a mother, about family relationships in general and how much it can mean to a person.

I really enjoyed the book, despite being a bit slow at the start. To me this book is a bit of a drama than a thriller/suspense. Some things I got straight away. The final twist is good but I am a little bit in denial. I actually liked Christopher’s ‘version’ of events. Or preferred it more.

Like they say, you don’t choose your family. Well, some people do.

My rating is 5* out of 5*.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s